OOTD August 9, 2012

Photo on 8-9-12 at 12.01 PM by retants
Photo on 8-9-12 at 12.01 PM, a photo by retants on Flickr.

Tank is from Talbots by way of Marshall’s (I love a good deal) 2x
Cardigan is from Marshall’s 3x
Can’t recall where the tiered floral cotton maxi skirt came from (it’s at least 2 summer’s old) 3x
Necklace was purchased at a boutique in Denver, CO

If I needed to replace the skirt today, I would get:

this Joe Brown Tiered Gypsy Skirt, which is also cotton, tiered (which helps prevent the weird bubbling at the waist that can happen with non-tiered skirts when you have a smaller waist and big hips), long and full.  It would require a slightly different color of cardigan, but I love the golds and browns on the black background.  It will look good straight into fall.

The black tank is a wardrobe staple, and I am always on the lookout for more.

Regarding the cardigan, short sleeve cardigans do several things in my opinion.  First, they do a great job of balancing out my pear shaped frame – my shoulders are more balanced with my hips, making the overall silhouette more attractive.  Second, it keeps me a little warmer in the office*.  And third, it creates a vertical line down the center of my body, which I then accentuate with a long necklace.

In case you are wondering how I can call this a grown-up work look, I work at a University and have no meetings today, so while I need to look pulled together, I can choose a more feminine look like this.

* I live in Arizona.  It was 115 degrees outside yesterday.  For this reason you will see a lot of skirts with tanks (or tank dresses) and cardigans on me.  Cardigans are a necessity when the office is 30-40 degrees cooler than outside, and skirts are nearly always cooler than long pants.

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.