OOTD – August 13, 2012

This morning felt like a pant’s day, so here’s what I came up with:

Cardigan: J.Jill Deep V-neck short sleeved cardigan, no longer available in black but still available in a gorgeous red color.  This sweater is a little on the heavy side,  but the short sleeves make it very comfortable.  Size 3X in order to ensure that it’s a little oversized.

Tank: Marshall’s, never heard of the brand.  What I love the most is the bold blue color and the art deco motifs!  Size 2X, A-line shape.

Pants: Coldwater Creek Ponte Knit Jeans The great thing about these is that they are comfy and lay flat, so they look good with almost anything.  They also have pockets, so if I go out for lunch I can just throw my phone and a credit card into a pocket and be on my way. Size 22, good stretch, don’t shrink.  I have pajamas that are less comfortable than these pants.

One comment on these pants.  I’m 5’5″, and HAVE to wear heels, optimally with some kind of platform, when I wear these pants.  The inseams is 33 inches, which is a bit longer than I would normally get.

Necklace: Small local boutique.  The beads are plastic and the piece was about $12.

I took a shot of the Tank to get some more detail.  When you look at it, however, you should get a clear idea of why I wear cardigan’s over everything.

I am a classic pear-shape.  I have a distinct waist, and in fact am even smaller around just below my bust.  But my hips are wider than my shoulders.  If I wear a tank without something over it, this proportional mismatch becomes VERY obvious.  The cardigan evens it out and camouflages the difference.

For shoes I am wearing Gabor 42.741 in Black Patent.  Zappos doesn’t have the black anymore but has a Stone Patent and a lovely dark blue that they call River.  Searching around the web, I also found them in Red and a gorgeous olive green.  Regardless, with a 1 inch platform and 2 3/4 inch heels, these give me the lift that the pants require, while the patent leather gives them some shine and keeps them from looking too boring.  (These are also wide at the toes, so my somewhat wide feet are very happy and comfortable.)

 

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.