OOTD – August 20, 2012

One of the reasons I am photographing my outfits is to FORCE myself to think more broadly and not wear the same dozen things over and over.  Today, I went for a color combination that is somewhat out of my comfort zone.

This outfit consists of an Olive ankle-length knit maxi skirt from Coldwater Creek (no longer on their site) in a 2X, the Pintucked Batik Cotton Tank from J.Jill  in eucalyptus in a 3X and a white short-sleeved cardigan available through either OneStopPlus or Roaman’s in their weirdly sized 1X.  As a final touch, I added a string of cultured pearls interspersed with semi-precious stones such as amethyst and citrine that I have had forever (although this is similar).

This cardigan is one of those items that I find fascinating in that it looks different on me than on the model in the picture.  In part it could be that I have it a size bigger than it needs to be (although I ordered my normal 1X from there).  On the model it appears to have more of a curve to it, which disappears on me, and as you can see I am folding it over in the front because it otherwise overlaps oddly.  Still, the fabric is nice and soft, and the cardigan is REALLY light-weight, making it perfect for an Arizona summer!

I wore this outfit with J-41 – Naples (Olive) – Footwear from Zappos, primarily because I need to walk about 4 blocks to lunch and needed something that wouldn’t wreck my feet.  These are comfortable, supportive and the right colors (even if they don’t look quite right in the pictures.  I blame that on the yellowish wall in my office.

Finally I am carrying my cheetah print Michael Kors tote this week in preparation for a trip on Wednesday-Friday.  It goes with everything and will let me carry on what I need.  Tonight or tomorrow I will have a post showing how I prep and pack for such a trim!

 

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.