Brief review: H&M+ Fall 2012

H&M introduced a plus line in select stores and I have been anxious to see it.  (http://www.hm.com/us/subdepartment/LADIES?Nr=4294928449). Unfortunately the nearest store carrying it to Arizona was in LA.

This week, however, I was in Chicago for work and got a chance to check the line out at the downtown store.  I wasn’t impressed.

  1. The department was stuck in a small corner, packed tightly making it hard to see what many of the items looked like.
  2. The fit was very inconsistent.  I tried on items in size 20 that were too big and size 24 that were too small.
  3. But my biggest complaint was that it was DULL.  The rest of the store was full of bright, colorful clothing but the plus line is bland: black, tan, cream, tan, taupe.  There appears to be a bit more color in the summer line, but there is very little for fall. One purple jacket, a maroon top, a green top, but that’s it.  The department even LOOKS blah from a distance.
  4. There were a lot of basics but very few of the fashion forward styles I had hoped for.  Simple jackets, trousers, sheath dresses, etc. were there, but  I only saw one casual skirt, one pencil skirt, no maxi skirts or dresses and hardly any prints.

In the end I didn’t buy anything. There just wasn’t even a single item that I felt was  attractive, unique, and well fitting enough to justify the cost, which is saying a lot given how low the prices are.  Were I a young professional just starting out, this collection MIGHT be a good way to get a good foundational wardrobe.

But until they add more trendy clothing, make it more colorful and standardize the sizing, the collection is unlikely to be compelling.  My hoped is that as the collection matures and the US site gets online orders (thereby increasing the market) the collection will improve.

The end result was that I didn’t buy anything.

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.

2 thoughts on “Brief review: H&M+ Fall 2012”

  1. The green was one of the odd ones that was a tent, even a size smaller than usual. I was sad, though, because the color is terrific. It was also REALLY see-through, and would require a tank/cami for work.

    The vintage one is a great style, but the color was very bland. (the picture makes it look pinkish but it wasn’t in person.) I would have killed for it in a red.

    The date night top is gorgeous and was one of the ones I was specifically looking for. They didn’t have it at the store. Maybe it sold out?

Comments are closed.