OOTD August 28, 2012

Today I wore one of my favorite summer dresses.  This Navy Seersucker Knit dress from Lands End has been a go-to all summer due to looking pulled together while feeling soft and light.  (Of course, it’s no longer available on their site.

The cardigan is one I’ve worn on here before from OneStopPlus.  The necklace is from a local artisan.  (Jewelry is a great way to support local artists AND find unique pieces!  It’s often less expensive than you would expect, as well.)

What is particularly great about the dress is the way the bodice is cut to emphasize curves.  (When I originally saw the dress in plus, they also had it in straight sizes.  The detailing on the bodice didn’t look right on the smaller body of the straight sized model.)

Notice the different directions of the stripes, with the almost bra-like cut and empire band under the bust.  These details accentuate the positives!

My only problem is that I was in between sizes when I bought it and wish I had chosen to go down a size rather than up.  This 3X is fitting kind of loosely right now, and would look a bit better if it were more fitted up top.  I might get it tailored before next summer.
Pikolinos - Moraira 845-8906F (Ron Leather) - Footwear

To add some kick, I wore this outfit with the red version of these shoes.  A girl can never have too many pairs of red shoes!  The brown would also work.

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.