OOTD August 29, 2012

Nothing fancy today; I have to hike across campus for a 1pm meeting, so comfort was the name of the game.  This is the ONLY top I have that has even a little of the color of the shoes I ordered last week in it, and since those seemed very comfortable and like good candidates for today’s walk, this shirt won.  Some shopping might be in order to give me more options!

Top: Tommy Hilfiger, couple of seasons old

SIDE NOTE ON THE TOP:  The fabric on this top is lovely and soft, but I still waffle on the topic of anything that reads as horizontal stripes.  This isn’t as flattering as I might like.

Pants: Coldwater Creek White Knit Jeans (similar)

Shoes: Lifestride Taco in Teal (Yes, there really are bits of that teal color in the shirt, although it’s probably for the best that the shoes are that far from the top.)

Bracelet: Actually, it’s a necklace I’ve had for years…It’s uncomfortably tight on my neck, but doubled up it makes a nice, loose bracelet.

Glasses: (Progressive Bifocals *sigh*) Jessica McClintock JMC013 in Amethyst

One of the interesting things about posting my outfits every day has been that I am being far more demanding of my outfits than I had been in the past.  By demanding, I mean they need to fit, look flattering, work for my lifestyle and be in decent condition.  Taking pictures has resulted in my seeing things differently than before.

For example, the neckline on this top and the way the sleeves are attached make my shoulders look narrow, which is NOT an illusion that works on me. My shoulders need to look broader in order to compensate for the fact that hips are wider than my shoulders, so something that seems to be narrowing them is not good.  This shirt may be headed to the goodwill soon (or at least the “wear around the house only” part of the closet…

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.