OOTD: September 9th, 2012

It’s over 100 out and I’m heading out to a nice restaurant with a friend.    Here’s an example of a trend I adore: some sort of breezy chiffon poncho I can toss over a simple cotton tank and jeans that hides all the figure flaws the tank exposes.

I found the poncho on clearance at Avenue for $10; it’s a greyish white with two shades of plum and black.  I paired it with a plum Faded Glory tank in 2x from Wal-Mart and my favorite go-to jeans, a 22W from JCP St. Johns Bay in pure dark wash.  These jeans are ridiculously fabulous for the price ($25).  They fit me flawlessly, are comfy and hold their shape remarkably well.  The demin looks and feels similar to a premium denim.  I love them, and I wish I had bought a backup pair.  These are pretty close and on clearance for $17, though, so I just may have to have them.

Now if i just had Rebecca’s Naturalizer Glee Strappy Sandals in Jungle Orchid my feet would match!!!  but alas I had to struggle by with Volatile Trixxy Flips.

Lately there have been a slew of premium flip flops, and it has not been  unusual for them to be $75-100. At first I balked, but 1) I live in a warm climate, 2) they are super comfy, and 3) I would pay that for sandals.   Given that the fit/finish of the shoe and quality of the rubber is far superior, I’ve gotten over my mental block about the price.

Finally, I paired the top with a long necklace from Chico’s, pretty sure from their collection last Spring ~$40 and a chunky magenta bangle I have had in my collection for years.

Author: Rebecca

I am a 40-something professional at a university, who likes to look good, be comfortable AND have time for other things as well. I have an MBA and a PhD in Education Policy, work primarily doing statistical and data analysis on all areas of interest to running a university, and am currently focusing on issues around finance. I am married, with no kids, but two dogs and two cats who cost nearly as much. When I am not working, I enjoy Bikram Yoga, riding my bike (to and from work when the temperature is under 100 degrees), doing cross stitch (the more sarcastic or snarky, the better) and watching way too much TV.